AOTRAUMA.ORG Центр Илизарова  

Ортопедия и травматология Общие вопросы/General questions Help Информационные технологии в медицине
 ВХОД ДЛЯ ПАЦИЕНТОВ
 вверх
 поиск
 админ
 главная
 исходное
 последующие

Re: ANKLE FRACTURE
послал Alexander Chelnokov 13 Сентябрь 2004, 01:56
KEMMD> fixation, sparing even the talus (not to get wire as possible vehicle for
KEMMD> contamination)

If the foot is fixed by a wire in the metatarsus, any motions are excluded, and risk of contamination anywhere around the ankle is
extremely low.

KEMMD> and than early fusion.

I have no experience of so early fusion in such comminuted case. So many avascular fragments... The talus would contact with nothing, and a graft will "hang in the air". I would still try closed reconstruction of the distal tibia at least to provide more host for the fusion and postpone it for few months.

If plan to do something early - maybe perform shaft corticotomy and bone transport to the talus? I bet it would take less time than wait for the fusion after open surgery in 2-3 weeks.
Or maybe perform a closed tibia-talar nailing as is? Then control the healing and add grafts from time to time.
Or maybe combine these? Corticotomy, transport of the peice of the tube down to the talus, then small incision for talar cartilage removal, and after docking perform conversion to nailing.

KEMMD> Fixing the fibula, will provide some stability to the ankle and through the
KEMMD> incision relatively far from the major zone of injury (antero-medial), and

What instability of the ankle we are talking about if the tibia and the foot are fixed by the fixator? No forces are applied to the fibula in the environment.

KEMMD> provide just some weak reinforcement to the construct

I didn't perform stress tests, at least it prevents fibula against secondary displacement. Stressed 2 mm double wire is not so weak.