AOTRAUMA.ORG Центр Илизарова  

Ортопедия и травматология Общие вопросы/General questions Help Информационные технологии в медицине
 вверх
 отправить
 поиск
 админ
 главная

Ilizarov vs Orthofix
Ортопедия и травматология Отправлено Nicola Papapietro 24 Апрель 2006, 18:37
Dear Colleagues
our list seems to be much more interested in trauma than in orthopedic disease, and I know that most of problems we have to face in the whole world is of traumatic kind.
I tried to ask for some spine problems that I face every day, but I had very few or no answer at all in the past. I work in a new hospital with no ER (unfortunately only at the moment, soon we will have that, aaaargh!) and I'm very lucky because I face very few patients with trauma so I have few experiences in that.
I would like to ask you all why do you prefer the Ilizarov external fixator instead of the modern Orthofix that is for quite all purpose in trauma and in selected orthopedics problems. I have some experience in treating fractures but also ostheotomy for varus or valgus knee, for Salter-Harris type of lesion ot the ankle and I have obtained very good results. What is the reason, if one, to use the Ilizarov instead of the more technological kind of external fixators? I know that Ilizarov is superbe in controlling fragments in all 3 planes of the space but is a very big kind of device and I think there is little compliance by the patient. The Orthofix and many others are thin and well accepted by patients. It could be interesting to me to know your opinion.
Thank you very much
Dr. Nicola Papapietro MD

<  |  >

• Сообщения о Ортопедия и травматология
  • Также Nicola Papapietro
  • Связаться с автором
  • Ответить

Re: Ilizarov vs Orthofix
    Tommy Bacal 24 Апрель 2006, 20:04